Team 06 - MIRCADE, Methods and Innovations for the Research in Pediatric Cancers.

Équipe 06 – MIRCADE (Méthodes et Innovations pour la Recherche sur les Cancers de l’Enfant).

The MIRCADE team studies the biology of several solid tumors in children, including hepatoblastoma, H3K27M mutated diffuse midline glioma (or DIPG) and Wilms’ tumor (or nephroblastoma). We are interested in the role played by certain signaling pathways (e.g. Wnt/beta-catenin, MAPK, ERK…), microRNAs and genes, especially those involved in lipid and energetic metabolism, beta-catenin stability and gene transcription. We are also working on drug repositioning and the development of new therapeutic approaches. We use many cell (cell culture in 2D or as spheroid) and animal models, including mouse, chicken embryo, Xenopus embryo and Zebrafish. We are also developing projects on a new discipline that we have called “Onconanotomy” which aims at studying the 3D architecture of tumor tissues.  

LinkedIn   Twitter   Facebook   ResearchGate  


Keywords

cell biology, cancer, pediatrics, child, hepatoblastoma, brainstem tumor, Wilms tumor, drug repositioning, molecular signaling, metabolism, lipids

News


Projects

1- Role of the DDR1 collagen receptor in the development of renal tumors

Wilms tumor develops from renal embryonic cells which will form pre-cancerous lesions, called quiescent and then hyperplastic nephrogenic rests, which will transform into tumors composed of 3 cellular contingents, epithelial, stromal and blastematous. A proteomics study showed that different collagens and/or their signaling pathways were decreased in tumors compared to quiescent nephrogenic rests. The restoration of signaling pathways induced by DDR1 after binding of fibrillar collagens showed a strong decrease in cell proliferation and migration, 2 very important steps for tumor development. Similar results were also obtained for adult renal carcinomas.
In perspective, we will focus on the roles of DDR1 in the recruitment and activation of immune cells within kidney tumors. At the same time, we will study the impact of the extracellular matrix in the resistance to treatment of renal cancers in children and adults.


Project members

Noteworthy publications
The Yin and Yang of Discoidin Domain Receptors (DDRs): Implications in Tumor Growth and Metastasis Development.
Majo S, Auguste P
Cancers ; 2021 Apr 06

2- Deciphering the 3D organization of tumor tissues

The biological components of tumor tissue are now relatively well known. They include for instance tumor cells, immune cells and blood capillaries. However, the 3D organization of these tissues is poorly known and the bio-architectural parameters defining the internal structure of a tumor remains unknown. In a paper published in Communications Biology, our team dissected the organization of a hepatoblastoma tumor using “Serial Block face-scanning electron microscopy” volumetric imaging technology, deep/machine learning, applied mathematics and infographics. This pilot study shows for the first time that blood capillaries and bile canaliculus-like structures influence the size, planar alignment and orientation of tumor cells within the tissue. This work paves the way for a whole new field of research called Onconanotomy.

 

Video 1

Video 2

Video 3

Video 4

Video 5

Video 6

 


Project members

Noteworthy publications
Deciphering tumour tissue organization by 3D electron microscopy and machine learning.
de Senneville BD, Khoubai FZ, Bevilacqua M, Labedade A, Flosseau K, Chardot C, Branchereau S, Ripoche J, Cairo S, Gontier E, Grosset CF
Communications biology ; 2021 Dec 13

3- Crosstalk between energy and lipid metabolisms and immuno-oncology of liver cancer

The aim of this axis of research is to understand energy and lipid metabolic adaptation of liver cancer cells and the crosstalk with innate immunity in the tumoral microenvironment. We have particular interest of assessing the benefit of available hypolipidemic drugs (statins and ati-PCSK9) to remodel lipid metabolism as a potential approach to treat liver cancers. Our ongoing results show profound anti-tumoral effects of these drugs in cell models as well as in in vivo models.
We also study the metabolic pathway of tryptophan/kynurenin/NAD and its impact in modulating immunosuppression of macrophages.

Figure: Crosstalk between metabolism and innate immunity within the classically activated M1 (antitumor-like macrophages) and the alternately activated M2 (protumor-like macrophages) (left) and overview of lipid metabolism in the liver (right).

 

          

 


Project members

Noteworthy publications
Targeting Lipid Metabolism in Liver Cancer.
Alannan M, Fayyad-Kazan H, Trézéguet V, Merched A
Biochemistry ; 2020 Oct 20

4- Anticancer drug repositioning in the treatment of childhood H3K27-altered diffuse midline glioma

Several of our projects aim at testing and validating the efficacy of anticancer agents, alone or in combination, in the treatment of childhood cancers. To validate the efficacy of these compounds, we use several animal models including the mouse, the chicken embryo, the Xenopus embryon and the Zebra fish. A first patent was filed in September 2021 following the discovery of the efficacy of the GSK126 + Statin combination in the treatment of infiltrating brainstem glioma (DIPG or also known as K3K27-altered Diffuse Midline glioma).

Figure: Synergistic effect GSK126 and inhibitors of cholesterol biosynthesis pathway enzymes on DMG tumor development in mice.

https://academic.oup.com/view-large/figure/340497140/vdac018f0006.jpg

  


Project members

Noteworthy publications
An EZH2 blocker sensitizes histone mutated diffuse midline glioma to cholesterol metabolism inhibitors through an off-target effect.
Rahal F, Capdevielle C, Rousseau B, Izotte J, Dupuy JW, Cappellen D, Chotard G, Ménard M, Charpentier J, Jecko V, Caumont C, Gimbert E, Grosset CF, Hagedorn M
Neuro-oncology advances ; 2022 Mar 01

5-LIM homeobox-2 suppresses hallmarks of adult and pediatric liver cancers

Hepatocellular carcinoma and hepatoblastoma are two liver cancers characterized by gene deregulations, chromosomal rearrangements, and mutations in Wnt/beta-catenin (Wnt) pathway-related genes. LHX2, a transcriptional factor member of the LIM homeobox gene family, has important functions in embryogenesis and liver development. LHX2 is oncogenic in many solid tumors and leukemia but its role in liver cancer is unknown. We analyzed the expression of LHX2 in hepatocellular carcinoma and hepatoblastoma samples using various transcriptomic datasets and biological samples. The role of LHX2 was studied using lentiviral transduction, in vitro cell-based assays (growth, migration, senescence, apoptosis), molecular approaches (phospho-kinase arrays, RNA-seq), bioinformatics and two in vivo models in chicken and Xenopus embryos. We found a strong connection between LHX2 down-regulation and Wnt activation in these two liver cancers. In hepatoblastoma, LHX2 downregulation correlated with multiple poor outcome parameters including higher patient age, intermediate- and high-risk tumors and low patients’ survival. Forced expression of LHX2 reduced the proliferation, migration and survival of liver cancer cells in vitro through the inactivation of MAPK/ERK and Wnt signals. In vivo, LHX2 impeded the development of tumors in chick embryos and repressed the Wnt pathway in Xenopus embryos. RNA-sequencing data and bioinformatic analyses confirmed the deregulation of many biological functions and molecular processes associated with cell migration, cell survival and liver carcinogenesis in LHX2-expressing hepatoma cells. At a mechanistic level, LHX2 mediated the disassembling of beta-catenin/T-cell factor 4 complex and induced expression of multiple inhibitors of Wnt (e.g. TLE/Groucho) and MAPK/ERK (e.g. DUSPs) pathways. Collectively, our findings demonstrate a tumor suppressive function of LHX2 in adult and pediatric liver cancers.

Figure: Regulation of MAPK/ERK and Wnt signals by LHX2 in hepatoma cells.

https://www.karger.com/Journal/Issue/281478

 

    


Project members

Jobs offers


Team’s noteworthy publications

An EZH2 blocker sensitizes histone mutated diffuse midline glioma to cholesterol metabolism inhibitors through an off-target effect.
Rahal F, Capdevielle C, Rousseau B, Izotte J, Dupuy JW, Cappellen D, Chotard G, Ménard M, Charpentier J, Jecko V, Caumont C, Gimbert E, Grosset CF, Hagedorn M
Neuro-oncology advances ; 2022 Mar 01
Deciphering tumour tissue organization by 3D electron microscopy and machine learning.
de Senneville BD, Khoubai FZ, Bevilacqua M, Labedade A, Flosseau K, Chardot C, Branchereau S, Ripoche J, Cairo S, Gontier E, Grosset CF
Communications biology ; 2021 Dec 13
HDAC inhibition induces expression of scaffolding proteins critical for tumor progression in pediatric glioma: focus on EBP50 and IRSp53.
Capdevielle C, Desplat A, Charpentier J, Sagliocco F, Thiebaud P, Thézé N, Fédou S, Hooks KB, Silvestri R, Guyonnet-Duperat V, Petrel M, Raymond AA, Dupuy JW, Grosset CF, Hagedorn M
Neuro-oncology ; 2020 Apr 15
Impact of Extracellular Matrix Components to Renal Cell Carcinoma Behavior.
Majo S, Courtois S, Souleyreau W, Bikfalvi A, Auguste P
Frontiers in oncology ; 2020 Apr 28
LIM Homeobox-2 Suppresses Hallmarks of Adult and Pediatric Liver Cancers by Inactivating MAPK/ERK and Wnt/Beta-Catenin Pathways.
Mosca N, Khoubai FZ, Fedou S, Carrillo-Reixach J, Caruso S, Del Rio-Alvarez A, Dubois E, Avignon C, Dugot-Senant N, Guettier C, Mussini C, Zucman-Rossi J, Armengol C, Thiébaud P, Veschambre P, Grosset CF
Liver cancer ; 2021 Dec 21


Partners

Team leaders

Christophe GROSSET
Research Director / DR


Team members

Aya ABOU HAMMOUD
Post PhD Researcher / Post-doc

Patrick AUGUSTE
Lecturer / MCU

Alexia CALOVOULOS
PhD Student / Doc

Hala FATROUNI
PhD Student / Doc

Christophe GROSSET
Research Director / DR

Guillaume HERRAULT
PhD Student / Doc

Pierre KLEIN
Engineer Assistant / AI

Aksam MERCHED
Professor / PU

Marina SIMON COMA
Post PhD Researcher / Post-doc

Camille TOCQUEVILLE
PhD Student / Doc

Philippe VESCHAMBRE
Lecturer / MCU

Équipe 06 – MIRCADE (Méthodes et Innovations pour la Recherche sur les Cancers de l’Enfant).

Team 06 - MIRCADE, Methods and Innovations for the Research in Pediatric Cancers.

L’équipe MIRCADE étudie la biologie de plusieurs tumeurs solides chez l’enfant, dont l’hépatoblastome, le gliome diffus du tronc cérébral muté H3K27M (ou DIPG) et la tumeurs de Wilms (ou néphroblastome). Nous nous intéressons au rôle joué par certaines voies de signalisation (ex. Wnt/bêta-caténine, MAPK, ERK…), microARNs, récepteurs à tyrosine kinase et gènes notamment ceux impliqués dans le métabolisme énergétique et lipidique, la stabilité de la bêta-caténine, la transcription des gènes. Nous nous intéressons également au repositionnement de médicaments et au développement de nouvelles approches thérapeutiques. Nous utilisons de nombreux modèles cellulaires (culture cellulaire standard en 2D, sphéroïde) et animaux, dont la souris, l’embryon de poulet, l’embryon de Xénope et le poisson Zèbre. Nous développons également des projets sur une nouvelle discipline que nous avons appelée “Onconanotomie” qui vise à étudier l’architecture en 3D des tissues tumoraux.

LinkedIn   Twitter   Facebook   ResearchGate  


Mots-clés

biologie cellulaire, cancer, pédiatrie, enfant, hépatoblastoma, tumeur du tronc cérébral, tumeur de Wilms, repositionnement de médicaments, signalisation moléculaire, métabolisme, lipides

Actualités


Projets

1-Rôle du récepteur aux collagènes DDR1 dans le développement des tumeurs rénales

La tumeur de Wilms se développe à partir de cellules embryonnaires rénales qui vont former des lésions pré-cancéreuses, appelées restes néphrogéniques quiescents puis hyperplasiques, qui se transformeront en tumeurs composées de 3 contingents cellulaires, épithélial, stromal et blastémateux. Une étude protéomique a montré que différents collagènes et/ou leurs voies de signalisation étaient diminués dans les tumeurs par rapport aux restes néphrogéniques quiescents. La restauration des voies de signalisation induites par DDR1 après liaison des collagènes fibrillaires a montré une forte diminution de la prolifération et de la migration cellulaire, 2 étapes très importantes pour le développement d’une tumeur. Des résultats similaires ont également été obtenues pour les carcinomes rénaux adultes.
En perspective, nous allons nous intéresser aux rôles de DDR1 dans le recrutement et l’activation des cellules immunitaires au sein des tumeurs rénales. Parallèlement nous allons étudier l’impact de la matrice extracellulaire dans la résistance aux traitements des cancers rénaux de l’enfant et de l’adulte.


Membres du projet

Publications remarquables
The Yin and Yang of Discoidin Domain Receptors (DDRs): Implications in Tumor Growth and Metastasis Development.
Majo S, Auguste P
Cancers ; 2021 Apr 06

2- Mieux connaitre l’organisation 3D des tissus tumoraux

Les éléments biologiques composant un tissu tumoral sont désormais relativement bien connus. On retrouve notamment les cellules tumorales, les cellules immunitaires et les capillaires sanguins. Cependant l’organisation 3D de ces tissus reste méconnue et les paramètres bio-architecturaux définissant la structure interne d’une tumeur restent à identifier. Dans un article publié dans Communications Biology, notre équipe a disséqué l’organisation d’une tumeur d’hépatoblastome à l’aide de la technologie d’imagerie volumétrique “Serial Block face-scanning electron microscopy”, de base d’apprentissage informatique, de mathématiques appliquées et d’infographie. Cette étude pilote montre que les capillaires sanguins et des structures proches des canalicules biliaires influencent la taille, l’alignement planaire et l’orientation des cellules tumorales au sein du tissu. Ce travail ouvre la voie à un tout nouveau domaine de recherche appelé Onconanotomie.

 

Vidéo 1

Vidéo 2

Vidéo 3

Vidéo 4

Vidéo 5

Vidéo 6


Membres du projet

Publications remarquables
Deciphering tumour tissue organization by 3D electron microscopy and machine learning.
de Senneville BD, Khoubai FZ, Bevilacqua M, Labedade A, Flosseau K, Chardot C, Branchereau S, Ripoche J, Cairo S, Gontier E, Grosset CF
Communications biology ; 2021 Dec 13

3- Modulation de l’immuno-oncologie du cancer du foie par le métabolisme énergétique et lipidique

Cet axe de recherche porte sur l’étude des dérégulations métaboliques et inflammatoires dans le cancer du foie, plus particulièrement au niveau du métabolisme énergétique et lipidique et son interaction avec l’immuno-oncologie hépatique.
En effet, nos travaux visent à remodeler le métabolisme lipidique des cellules cancéreuses en utilisant les médicaments hypolipidémiants disponibles en clinique (statines, anti-PCSK9) dans une stratégie de repositionnement thérapeutique contre le cancer de foie. Nos travaux montrent que cette intervention entraine l’inhibition de la prolifération des cellules tumorales et de leur migration tout en modulant le métabolisme lipidique et énergétique. Nous étudions également la voie métabolique de tryptophane/kynurénine/NAD et l’impact de ses dérégulations sur la modulation de l’inflammation innée et l’immunosuppression.


Figure: Métabolisme différentiel au niveau des macrophages anti-tumoraux (M1) et pro-tumoraux (M2) à gauche et vue d’ensemble du métabolisme lipidique au niveau du foie à droite.

          


Membres du projet

Publications remarquables
Targeting Lipid Metabolism in Liver Cancer.
Alannan M, Fayyad-Kazan H, Trézéguet V, Merched A
Biochemistry ; 2020 Oct 20

4- Repositionnement d’anticancéreux dans le traitement des tumeurs du tronc cérébral chez l’enfant

Plusieurs de nos projets visent à tester et valider l’efficacité d’agents anticancéreux, seuls ou en association, dans le traitement des cancers de l’enfant. Pour valider l’efficacité des ces composés, nous utilisons plusieurs modèles animaux parmi lesquels la souris, l’embryon de poulet, l’embryon de Xénope et le poisson Zèbre. Un premier brevet a été déposé en Septembre 2021 suite à la découverte de l’efficacité de la combinaison GSK126 + Statine dans le traitement du gliome infiltrant du tronc cérébral (DIPG ou aussi appelé K3K27-altered Diffuse Midline glioma).

Figure: Effet synergique de GSK126 et des inhibiteurs des enzymes de la voie de synthèse du cholestérol sur  le développement des DIPG chez la souris.

https://academic.oup.com/view-large/figure/340497140/vdac018f0006.jpg

  


Membres du projet

Publications remarquables
An EZH2 blocker sensitizes histone mutated diffuse midline glioma to cholesterol metabolism inhibitors through an off-target effect.
Rahal F, Capdevielle C, Rousseau B, Izotte J, Dupuy JW, Cappellen D, Chotard G, Ménard M, Charpentier J, Jecko V, Caumont C, Gimbert E, Grosset CF, Hagedorn M
Neuro-oncology advances ; 2022 Mar 01

5-LIM homeobox-2 est un gène suppresseur dans le cancer du foie adulte et pédiatrique

Le carcinome hépatocellulaire et l’hépatoblastome sont deux cancers du foie caractérisés par des dérégulations génétiques, des réarrangements chromosomiques et des mutations dans les gènes de la voie Wnt/bêta-caténine (Wnt). LHX2, un facteur de transcription membre de la famille des gènes LIM homeobox, a des fonctions importantes dans l’embryogenèse et le développement du foie. LHX2 est oncogène dans de nombreuses tumeurs solides et leucémies, mais son rôle dans le cancer du foie est inconnu. Nous avons analysé l’expression de LHX2 dans des échantillons de carcinome hépatocellulaire et d’hépatoblastome en utilisant divers jeux de données transcriptomiques et des échantillons biologiques. Le rôle de LHX2 a été étudié à l’aide de la transduction lentivirale, de tests cellulaires in vitro (croissance, migration, sénescence, apoptose), d’approches moléculaires (réseaux de phospho-kinases, RNA-seq) et bioinformatiques, et de deux modèles in vivo chez les embryons de poulet et de xénope. Nous avons trouvé une corrélation entre la régulation négative de LHX2 et l’activation de Wnt dans ces deux cancers du foie. Dans l’hépatoblastome, la régulation négative de LHX2 est corrélée à de nombreux paramètres de mauvais résultats, notamment un âge plus élevé des patients, des tumeurs à risque intermédiaire et élevé et une faible survie des patients. L’expression forcée de LHX2 inhibe la prolifération, la migration et la survie des cellules cancéreuses du foie in vitro par l’inactivation des voies MAPK/ERK et Wnt. In vivo, LHX2 empêche le développement de tumeurs chez les embryons de poussins et réprime la voie Wnt chez les embryons de xénope. Les données de séquençage de l’ARN et les analyses bioinformatiques confirment la dérégulation de nombreuses fonctions biologiques et de processus moléculaires associés à la migration cellulaire, la survie cellulaire et la carcinogenèse hépatique dans les cellules tumorales hépatiques exprimant LHX2. Au niveau mécanistique, LHX2 entraine le désassemblage du complexe bêta-caténine/facteur cellulaire 4 et induit l’expression de plusieurs inhibiteurs des voies Wnt (ex. TLE/Groucho) et MAPK/ERK (ex. DUSPs). Collectivement, nos résultats démontrent une fonction « gène suppresseur » de LHX2 dans les cancers du foie chez l’adulte et chez l’enfant.

Figure: Régulation des signaux moléculaires MAPK/ERK et Wnt par LHX2 dans les cellules tumorales hépatiques.

https://www.karger.com/Journal/Issue/281478

    

 

 


Membres du projet

Offres d’emploi


Publications remarquables de l’équipe

An EZH2 blocker sensitizes histone mutated diffuse midline glioma to cholesterol metabolism inhibitors through an off-target effect.
Rahal F, Capdevielle C, Rousseau B, Izotte J, Dupuy JW, Cappellen D, Chotard G, Ménard M, Charpentier J, Jecko V, Caumont C, Gimbert E, Grosset CF, Hagedorn M
Neuro-oncology advances ; 2022 Mar 01
Deciphering tumour tissue organization by 3D electron microscopy and machine learning.
de Senneville BD, Khoubai FZ, Bevilacqua M, Labedade A, Flosseau K, Chardot C, Branchereau S, Ripoche J, Cairo S, Gontier E, Grosset CF
Communications biology ; 2021 Dec 13
HDAC inhibition induces expression of scaffolding proteins critical for tumor progression in pediatric glioma: focus on EBP50 and IRSp53.
Capdevielle C, Desplat A, Charpentier J, Sagliocco F, Thiebaud P, Thézé N, Fédou S, Hooks KB, Silvestri R, Guyonnet-Duperat V, Petrel M, Raymond AA, Dupuy JW, Grosset CF, Hagedorn M
Neuro-oncology ; 2020 Apr 15
Impact of Extracellular Matrix Components to Renal Cell Carcinoma Behavior.
Majo S, Courtois S, Souleyreau W, Bikfalvi A, Auguste P
Frontiers in oncology ; 2020 Apr 28
LIM Homeobox-2 Suppresses Hallmarks of Adult and Pediatric Liver Cancers by Inactivating MAPK/ERK and Wnt/Beta-Catenin Pathways.
Mosca N, Khoubai FZ, Fedou S, Carrillo-Reixach J, Caruso S, Del Rio-Alvarez A, Dubois E, Avignon C, Dugot-Senant N, Guettier C, Mussini C, Zucman-Rossi J, Armengol C, Thiébaud P, Veschambre P, Grosset CF
Liver cancer ; 2021 Dec 21


Partenaires

Chef(s) d’équipe

Christophe GROSSET
Research Director / DR


Toute l’équipe

Aya ABOU HAMMOUD
Post PhD Researcher / Post-doc

Patrick AUGUSTE
Lecturer / MCU

Alexia CALOVOULOS
PhD Student / Doc

Hala FATROUNI
PhD Student / Doc

Christophe GROSSET
Research Director / DR

Guillaume HERRAULT
PhD Student / Doc

Pierre KLEIN
Engineer Assistant / AI

Aksam MERCHED
Professor / PU

Marina SIMON COMA
Post PhD Researcher / Post-doc

Camille TOCQUEVILLE
PhD Student / Doc

Philippe VESCHAMBRE
Lecturer / MCU